Nude By Nature Essential Collection Professional Brush Set Review

If there is one thing I love to collect, it definitely is makeup brushes. I can’t help it, I just have this compulsive need to purchase and collect every brush on the market, much to the peril of my savings account! I purchased the original Nude by Nature Professional Brush Kit years and years ago – what a throwback –  I absolutely love it and still use many of those brushes to this day! So I picked up their new(ish) Essential Collection Brush Set so if they are still as good quality. And here are my thoughts.

In the Nude By Nature Essential Collection Brush Set (Link here), you receive seven brushes and a super cute faux-leather case to store them in for a price of $39.95 AUS. I personally think this is a great price, considering you pay roughly $5.7 per brush.

Moving on, one of the things I love so much about the Essential Collection Set is that it does not include the usual flat foundation brush. I don’t know about you, but I love the fact it does not come with one! It seems that most brands include your typical foundation brush in pretty much all other makeup brush sets. I have nothing against the brush itself, I love it for foundation and applying face masks, but when you receive one in every brush kit you buy, you definitely build up a collection of brushes you don’t use, which is just a waste of money. So, Nude By Nature, a huge round of applause for the fact you did not include one in this brush collection!

NBN Brushes

In the set you receive a wide range of both face and eye brushes, including; a kabuki brush, powder brush, concealer brush, eyeshadow brush, eyeshadow blending brush, eye definer brush, and a lip brush.

Kabuki Brush: Love this for powder if I want more coverage. This brush is really dense with slightly shorter bristles, which makes it really effective for applying powder so a more coverage look. Oh, and it blends out excess powder amazingly!

Powder Brush: The difference between this powder brush and the kabuki brush is that the powder brush is not as dense. You can definitely get full coverage powder application with brush, but it may take you two or three dips back into powder to build the coverage, whereas the kabuki just packs the powder on the first time. Regardless, I use both pretty much daily! This is my personal favourite for bronzer!

Concealer brush: Just your basic concealer brush. It does the job, and it does it well. Because it is so flat, I also love to use this brush to whack on pigment or glitter. As it is not fluffy, it doesn’t disperse the product everywhere, it just chucks it on precisely where you want it!

Eyeshadow brush: I often use this to set my eyeshadow primer. It’s so big and fluffy you only really need to go in once and the job is done. If I have messed up my eyeshadow blending, I use this and a bone coloured eyeshadow (or for the last resort, my face powder) to buff away the mess I’ve made.  Honestly, it is such a life saver I CAN NOT LIVE WITHOUT IT.

Eyeshadow blending brush: I use this to build, buff, and blend my crease colour. There is nothing much to say about this brush other than it’s absolute perfection.

Eye Definer Brush: Out of all the brushes, I think that this is the most versatile brush. I have used this for my eyebrows, eyeliner, lower lash line eyeshadow, and even to do a nose contour. As I have more than one of this brush, I dedicated one for my eyebrows (I trained the bristles to become more of a point) and one for everything else.

Lip Brush: I don’t really use this for lip products (I don’t know why I just never liked using a brush for lipstick), but rather more detailed precision work. This is great for carving out the brows with concealer and highlighting both brow bone and the inner corner of the eye with a dazzling highlight.

NBN Brushes in case

I have used these brushes for a while now, and deep clean my brushes weekly, and yet I have not had one shed or change shape on me. I can’t get enough of these brushes, they definitely up to scratch with the good ole’ original Professional Brush Kit from way back, and quite possibly are even better! I have a LOT of makeup brushes, and in my opinion, these stand way above the likes of Real Techniques, and are most definitely comparable to my holy grail Sigma brushes. So much so, if you gave me two identical brushes (one from Nude By Nature, and the other, Sigma) I probably would not be able to tell which one is which. Overall, the only upper hand Sigma has over Nude By Nature is that they have a huge range of brushes! Fingers crossed Nude By Nature bring out some more brushes to their normal range! Side note: I have purchased a couple brushes from Nude By Nature’s normal range, and am currently testing them all out so keep peeled for a review coming soon!

Nude By Nature, as a brand, put so much effort into their products and packaging it is really hard to find something I dislike about them! The fact that they provide a super cute faux-leather case to store and protect your brushes (great for travelling, by the way) just puts them miles above other drugstore brands! And being Nude By Nature, these brushes are synthetic and 100% animal cruelty free – which is absolutely amazing!

NBN Brushes and case

Overall, I cannot fault these brushes. I’m not kidding these are so amazing I have bought two more packs since! And no, before you ask; you can never have enough makeup brushes! Coincidentally, Nude by nature (including brushes) are half price at Priceline at the moment (up until the 14th of June I believe), so I recommend running (yes, running) down to your nearest store and getting your hands on one of these brush sets! Trust me, you won’t regret it.

And that wraps up my Nude by Nature Essential Collection Brush Set review! If you have tried out this set (or any Nude By Nature makeup brush) leave your thoughts below, I would love to hear what you think about them!

Until later,

Behk xo

Leave a comment